DC Emerge Victorious Over The Mighty Punjab Kings

PBKS again came close to a match they should have probably won by a big margin and this time for a change they lost it to the Delhi Capitals. DC were chasing a huge total of 196 and with the firepower in the PBKS bowling line-up, it should have been an easy victory for the PBKS.

But Shikhar Dhawan had something else on his mind. Dhawan struck a bold 92 as Delhi Capitals made short work of a 196-run target  for a six-wicket win over Punjab Kings in the IPL at Mumbai’s Wankhede arena on Sunday. Dhawan glanced in great structure during his 49-ball thump that was studded with 13 fours and two sixes. Dhawan was capably upheld by Prithvi Shaw (32 off 15) first up and afterward captain Rishabh Pant (15) and Marcus Stoinis (27 not out) as DC pursued down 196 in 18.2 overs. 

Put in to bat, Mayank Agarwal and skipper KL Rahul sewed a century-run opening stand to direct Punjab to a difficult 195 for four. Agarwal made 69 off a day and a half, while Rahul scored 61 off 51 deliveries as Punjab made a flying beginning to their innings. 

Pursuing 196, Dhawan and Shaw made a speedy beginning, sharing 59 runs in only 33 balls for the initial wicket. Shaw proceeded with his fine structure and crushed a 17-ball 32 preceding being holed out to Chris Gayle off Arshdeep Singh. 

Steve Smith, playing his first counterpart for DC, looked a pale sorry excuse for himself prior to turning out to be Riley Meredith’s first casualty of the day. 

Yet, the wickets barely anily affected Dhawan, who proceeded with his assaulting strokeplay to raise his fifty off 31 balls. 

Requiring 71 off 42 balls, DC struck gold by getting 18 runs off the fourteenth over. 

Dhawan hit Meredith for a cap stunt of fours, other than the bowler parted with another limit off a wide ball as DC cut down the edge to 53 off a day and a half. 

Dhawan, be that as it may, missed the mark regarding a splendid century when he was tidied up by Jhye Richardson (2/41) in the sixteenth over. 

Prior, Pant’s choice to bowl in the wake of winning the throw blew up as the initial team of Agarwal and Rahul took the assault to the resistance bowlers from the beginning, hitting limits and sixes voluntarily. 

While Agarwal was the attacker of the two at first, Rahul raised the stakes after a generally calm beginning. 

Agarwal and Rahul received a forceful methodology against debutant Lukman Meriwala and Kagiso Rabada, taking their group to 94 for no misfortune in 10 overs. 

Agarwal was looking dangerous during his 36-ball thump and wound up hitting seven boundaries and four hits over the fence. 

Be that as it may, DC excused both the batsmen one after another to make a rebound into the match. While Agarwal was quick to withdraw, cutting a Meriwala conveyance directly to Shikhar Dhawan at sweeper cover in the thirteenth over, Rahul gave a straightforward catch to Marcus Stonis at midwicket off Rabada. 

Rahul’s thump was bound with seven limits and two sixes. 

Huge hitting Chris Gayle (11) neglected to make an imprint, dying soon looking for a most extreme. 

Nicholas Pooran (9) bombed once more yet Deepak Hooda (22 not out off 13) and Shahrukh Khan (15 not out off five) gave the genuinely necessary successes towards the end. 

For DC, Ravichandran Ashwin (0/28) was efficient, while Avesh Khan (1/33), Meriwala (1/32), Chris Woakes (1/42) and Rabada (1/43) got a wicket each.